Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

If you’re into Dystopian Young Adult books, this series may be for you. It’s absolutely one of my favorites. And the cover art…AMAZING. The characters are also very interesting. So lets begin!

Description

I have a curse

I have a gift

I am a monster

I’m more than human

My touch is lethal

My touch is power

I am their weapon

I will fight back
Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.
The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.
The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering was – The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.
Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior. (via Goodreads)

Review

Tahereh should have been a poet. Most of this novel is very descriptive, painting several pictures. Some were slightly disturbing and others were very peaceful.

There’s so much going on in this novel. As far as I can tell, Warner is the bad guy in this, i repeat THIS, book. I say that because, like every dystopian series, you never really know who the real enemy is until the last book. Also, Warner is his last name. As to what his first name is, we aren’t given a single clue.
It seems to me that there is going to possibly be a love triangle between Adam Kent, Juliette and Warner. That will be an interesting read. Again you don’t know who the main love interest is until the end, like in Peeta and Katnis in The Hunger Games or Kitty and Knox in The Blackcoat Rebellion. And if you don’t know what I’m referring to I apologize for the spoilers. You can also find out more about Blackcoat Rebellion on this blog.
Any who, back to the characters. Warner is an interesting character. His and Juliette’s personalities, to me, seem a little bit similar that they clash so often. He does have some hilarious lines throughout the book.

And then we have Juliette, who has some of the problems many of us face, i.e. low self-esteem. But Juliette’s backstory, which you learn a little of while reading this book, is actually very sad.
Several characters are introduced and they play a slightly larger role in the novellas and the other novels. My favorite of them being little baby James, who is totally adorable. He actually reminds me a little bit of a friend I went to high school with.
Another of my favorites is Kenji. Possibly the funniest character of this series, he tends to lighten the mood when the book becomes a little dark. He’s such a little flirt, which makes his friendship with Adam a little tense. It’s kind of entertaining to read. And by “kind of” I mean really very entertaining.
I would go on to describe Adam… but it would be better if you read the book. xD
With these characters and the various plot twists, I feel this book would make an excellent TV series. It’s also a great read and it isn’t all that long. I highly recommend this book.

shatter

If you’ve read or are currently reading this book, comment your thoughts down below. And don’t forget to follow for more book reviews.

Leave a Reply

