Taking the Score by Kate Meader

My Facebook-Amazon addiction is getting the best of me. I mean seriously free books all the time. But this one you would actually have to buy. It is totally worth it! Trust me on this, it’s a great buy. And by buy i mean book. So lets get started.

Description

A sexy category romance from Entangled’s Brazen imprint…

His office temptation is now his full-blown fantasy…

Paying down her sister’s debts has left Emma Strickland with little more than the thrift store suit on her back. And as if the suckfest couldn’t get worse, she’s forced to moonlight as a waitress to support herself and her cat. At a strip club. Her uptight, sexy-as-hell boss Brody Kane can never find out.

Texas property tycoon Brody Kane hired Emma for her spreadsheet skills, but her prim and proper demeanor sealed the deal. There’s no room in his life for a sexy distraction … and yet, he can’t stop lusting after the delicious Ms. Strickland. And then he takes an important client to a Chicago strip club and gets the worst lap dance in adult entertainment history. From Emma.

Now that he knows his office good girl has a naughty streak, Brody makes it his mission to uncover her secrets, one steamy, illicit, over-the-desk encounter at a time. But Emma is hiding more than her side job, and her final secret could end up destroying them both. (via Goodreads)

Review

Oh my goodness! I don’t think I’ve ever read anything quite like this book before. Literally it is a romantic comedy. I would say it was more of a comedy than a romance. That’s because I spent most of the time laughing at how ridiculous the characters were being.

Throughout the book, we follow Brody’s perspective as well as Emma’s. I say perspective because this book wasn’t written in first person. It was a little difficult to keep up on who the book was following. I see what Ms. Meader was attempting to do, not quite sure it worked though.

Anyway…Things happened quite quickly in this book. First they’re working in the office and you get hints that Brody has a thing for Emma even though she is wearing clothing that isn’t flattering at all, which make you think ‘what’s really going on with Emma?’ Honestly it takes an entire book for them to get past everything and realize what they want. I don’t think I’ve ever been more frustrated with the main characters than I was with these two.

It was obvious they both had a thing for one another. Anyways, moving on. Things go from “zero to one hundred real quick”. Or in other words they escalated quickly. First Brody discovers Emma’s secret, next thing you, things are hot and heavy. Literally things happened so fast you’re left wondering “what just happened” so many times that you actually have to go back and make sure you read it correctly.

A lot happens. I can put it in this post but then we would have to have a spoilers section. Anyway…Brody is such a sweetheart, he does so much for Emma. It’s really irritating when she is ungrateful about it, but then if I were in her place I would probably feel the same. Although there were moments where I was offended by what Brody said or did. And then he explains himself and you’re left thinking “oh..kay?!? O.o”

Like in every novel there’s ALWAYS someone who is the evil person that wants to seperate the couple or get something out of them. In this novel, Emma’s sister’s pimp is pretty much blackmailing Emma so she can get something out of Brody. You know how that goes.

Don’t get me wrong, I like Emma and how headstrong she is, but she is a bit of a coward. Regardless, I’m glad things worked themselves out and she decided to open up to Brody.

I really liked this book. It was hilarious and fast paced. So much happens and you just can’t help but love Brody. I highly recommend this book. There’s some drama, lots of comedy, and certainly some romance. I hope that, if you decide to read it, you will enjoy it as much as I did.

tts

If you’ve read or are currently reading this book, comment your thoughts down below. And don’t forget to follow for more book reviews.

Leave a Reply

