The Glittering Court by Richelle Mead

Oh my gosh! That’s all i can say about this book. There was so much to it I just couldn’t put it down. Let me give you a quick overview and then we’ll get to the actual review. I will apologize now for being late with my review and if I accidentally spoil something.

Description

Big and sweeping, spanning from the refined palaces of Osfrid to the gold dust and untamed forests of Adoria, The Glittering Court tells the story of Adelaide, an Osfridian countess who poses as her servant to escape an arranged marriage and start a new life in Adoria, the New World. But to do that, she must join the Glittering Court.

Both a school and a business venture, the Glittering Court is designed to transform impoverished girls into upper-class ladies who appear destined for powerful and wealthy marriages in the New World. Adelaide naturally excels in her training, and even makes a few friends: the fiery former laundress Tamsin and the beautiful Sirminican refugee Mira. She manages to keep her true identity hidden from all but one: the intriguing Cedric Thorn, son of the wealthy proprietor of the Glittering Court.

When Adelaide discovers that Cedric is hiding a dangerous secret of his own, together they hatch a scheme to make the best of Adelaide’s deception. Complications soon arise—first as they cross the treacherous seas from Osfrid to Adoria, and then when Adelaide catches the attention of a powerful governor.

But no complication will prove quite as daunting as the potent attraction simmering between Adelaide and Cedric. An attraction that, if acted on, would scandalize the Glittering Court and make them both outcasts in wild, vastly uncharted lands… (via Goodreads)

Review

I literally could not put this book down! I really loved Richelle Mead’s new fantasy world. The dresses, the dancing, the whole finishing school. I would have loved, and hated, to be apart of that era. Seriously though, this books is a great read.

The book is written from Lady Elizabeth “Adelaide” Witmore, Countess of Rothford. She’s so sassy, and it’s fairly noticeable that she can be a spoiled brat. But, she’s not completely selfish, at least as the book continues.

So as you’ve guessed, books aren’t all that entertaining unless there is conflict. And boy, was there conflict. Seriously, there was never a dull moment. When Adelaide told off that one girl, I was dying of laughter, figuratively I mean. There were several moments when I just couldn’t help but laugh, Adelaide is so witty. I have a love-hate relationship with her. Then again she did it all for survival.

What was really great about this story is that Elizabeth, the protagonist’s real name, wasn’t just thinking about herself the entire time. She would think about how her actions affected others, i.e. Mira, Cedric, her grandmother, etc. Some of her actions weren’t completely selfish, and she definitely grew as a person, and by that I mean character.

But let’s get back to the story… There was so much drama, I almost couldn’t handle it. I know it was either Cosmopolitan Magazine or Seventeen Magazine that said this book would “interest you if you like the CW’s latest hit Reign”. And they do have a point, there was so much backstabbing and lies it was hard to keep track.

But seriously, the antagonist, i.e. the bad guy, was someone I least expected it from. Then again I’m easily wooed by characters who have “pretty” words. The biggest shocker was how well Elizabeth adjusted to her new lives and roles. I’m all for “love conquering all” and I have yet to find one of Richelle’s books that makes me believe the contrary.

Can I just discuss how Adelaide is a con-artist? I mean seriously, she stole someone else’s, i.e. her maid’s, identity and involved Cedric and Mira in her little con. I mean even Cedric’s father called her a con-artists. I suppose it was a good thing too, since it ended up saving Cedric’s life in the end.

All in all, I really loved this book. It had action, adventure, backstabbing, comedy, drama, romance. I mean seriously how is this not a great book. I highly recommend it. Best part is that you can read it as a stand alone book. Sure there will be questions left by some of the characters but, hey this is only book one of three.

So the next time you seem to have trouble finding something to read, pick up a copy of The Glittering Court, it won’t disappoint.

9781595148414

If you’ve read or are currently reading this book, comment your thoughts down below. And don’t forget to follow for more book reviews.

Leave a Reply

