Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

You should probably know that one of the main reasons I read this book is because it is being made into a movie. I can now honestly say that I am really excited for the film adaptation. So let’s get to it.

Synopsis

With this stunning debut novel, New York Times bestselling author Lauren Oliver emerged as one of today’s foremost authors of young adult fiction. Like Jay Asher’s Thirteen Reasons Why and Gayle Forman’s If I Stay, Before I Fall raises thought-provoking questions about love, death, and how one person’s life can affect so many others.

For popular high school senior Samantha Kingston, February 12—”Cupid Day”—should be one big party, a day of valentines and roses and the privileges that come with being at the top of the social pyramid. And it is…until she dies in a terrible accident that night.

However, she still wakes up the next morning. In fact, Sam lives the last day of her life seven times, until she realizes that by making even the slightest changes, she may hold more power than she ever imagined.

Named to numerous state reading lists, this novel was also recognized as a Best Book of the Year by Amazon.com, Barnes & Noble, The Daily Beast, NPR, and Publishers Weekly. It has been optioned for film by Fox 2000 Pictures. (via Goodreads)

Review

As you can guess, the story follows 17 or 18-year-old Samantha “Sam” Kingston. I’m not entirely sure her age is actually stated. (This is mostly because I was still emotional over the ending of a different book I finished a week before. Also, I read Hard Rules a couple of days later and you can read my review for that as well.)

Like I mentioned, the book follows Sam on the last day of her life. I really didn’t get that it was seven times until I observed that there were only 7 chapters, plus a prologue and an epilogue. It was an interesting concept that Ms Oliver attempted with this book. Personally, I think it worked. Several of my friends said they were reminded of Groundhog Day, I have not seen it so I don’t know.

While I have read If I Stay by Gayle Forman, this particular novel made me questions if there is something we could do after our deaths to change the outcome or ask forgiveness for the things we did. It also reminded me of the fact that we never know when our last day on this earth is, so we should learn to value the things we have that we don’t really think about.

Sam was an interesting character. I don’t think I’ve ever read a book where the character developed so much in such a short period of time. Quite honestly, it was a bittersweet moment reading about the day she spent with her family or when she finally realized what Kent meant to her. I almost lost it when Kent told her about the accident and who died on her sixth day reliving the day of her death. And by lost it, I do mean I started bawling my eyes out. I did cry, who wouldn’t? It’s such a heart-breaking moment because you realize that that was how she died.

Honestly, it was such a beautiful book. I’m actually having a hard time not crying right now as I type this. Sure the whole topic of death and suicide, yes there was a suicide in this book as well, is kind of morbid, but there were some moments where I couldn’t help but laugh.

I’m going to stop here because I know that if I continue, I’m going to spoil something. So I really hope you do decide to read this book, before you watch the movie. It was a sad story, but it did have some fun moments and it had such great character development. I highly recommend this book and hope you enjoy it.

bif

If you’ve read or are currently reading this book, comment your thoughts down below. And don’t forget to follow for more book reviews.

One thought on “Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

Leave a Reply

