If I Were You by Lisa Renee Jones

Oh my lord! This book is H-O-T and oh so very entertaining. Shout out to my roommates because if it weren’t for them, I may not have gotten this book. And Renee Jones has seriously become one of my favorites so let’s get started shall we.

Synopsis

How it all started…

One day I was a high school teacher on summer break, leading a relatively uneventful but happy life. Or so I told myself. Later, I’d question that, as I would question pretty much everything I knew about me, my relationships, and my desires. It all began when my neighbor thrust a key to a storage unit at me. She’d bought it to make extra money after watching some storage auction show. Now she was on her way to the airport to elope with a man she barely knew, and she needed me to clear out the unit before the lease expired.

Soon, I was standing inside a small room that held the intimate details of another woman’s life, feeling uncomfortable, as if I was invading her privacy. Why had she let these items so neatly packed, possessions that she clearly cared about deeply, be lost at an auction? Driven to find out by some unnamed force, I began to dig, to discover this woman’s life, and yes, read her journals—-dark, erotic journals that I had no business reading. Once I started, I couldn’t stop. I read on obsessively, living out fantasies through her words that I’d never dare experience on my own, compelled by the three men in her life, none of whom had names. I read onward until the last terrifying dark entry left me certain that something had happened to this woman. I had to find her and be sure she was okay.

Before long, I was taking her job for the summer at the art gallery, living her life, and she was nowhere to be found. I was becoming someone I didn’t know. I was becoming her.

The dark, passion it becomes…

Now, I am working at a prestigious gallery, where I have always dreamed of being, and I’ve been delivered to the doorstep of several men, allof which I envision as one I’ve read about in the journal. But there is one man that will call to me, that will awaken me in ways I never believed possible. That man is the ruggedly sexy artist, Chris Merit, who wants to paint me. He is rich and famous, and dark in ways I shouldn’t find intriguing, but I do. I so do. I don’t understand why his dark side appeals to me, but the attraction between us is rich with velvety promises of satisfaction. Chris is dark, and so are his desires, but I cannot turn away. He is damaged beneath his confident good looks and need for control, and in some way, I feel he needs me. I need him.

All I know for certain is that he knows me like I don’t even know me, and he says I know him. Still, I keep asking myself — do I know him? Did he know her, the journal writer, and where is she? And why doesn’t it seem to matter anymore? There is just him and me, and the burn for more.

-Via Goodreads

Review

Oh my lord! This book has officially replaced Fifty Shades of Grey on my list of favorites. Originally I wasn’t sure how this books would be since it mentioned FSOG and PLL. But OMG, it was amazing!

There was intrigue, mystery, romance, and a bit of drama. Honestly, I just loved Sara and Chris. Their relationship isn’t exactly #goals, but they’re fun to read. And their more, shall we say, intimate moments, well yeah they were steamy.

I had to put it down several times since I was reading this at work. But, to be honest, it was so much better than I expected. Renee Jones has a way of creating several mysteries and plot twists that it’s very difficult to put the book down.

While I enjoyed the story very much, I noticed several mistakes in the printing, which is one of my biggest pet peeves. I’m not sure if it was just the edition that I had or if it is all versions of the book, but certain passages from the journals were quotes throughout the book and weren’t italicised or in quotes. It was slightly irritating because I had to go and write in the book to keep things straight.

Anyway, back to the actual story. Between the sexy painter and the handsome gallery owner, both of whom are filthy rich, any girl would feel like they were way in over their head. And I liked that LRJ did manage to capture that feeling.

The friend who runs off to get married, SO MANY QUESTIONS! Seriously, if it wasn’t for the fact that she is occasionally mentioned, I would have completely forgotten about her. What are your plans with that particular storyline, Lisa? And the café owner, she seems a little untrustworthy. Especially with the amount of times she’s disappeared throughout the novel.

Earlier I mentioned PLL (Pretty Little Liars), and that aspect comes to life in this novel with the author of the journals I talked about before. What happened to her? Will we ever find out? Lord I hope so and that it doesn’t take the same shape as PLL, because that seriously has become annoying because A is constantly changing. I apologize for going off-track there.

Okay I mentioned two hot guys earlier, both of which are totally and completely alpha male. Something that doesn’t make sense, making our female protagonist be such lightweights that it pretty much puts them in danger. I’m looking at you Lisa Renee Jones, don’t think I didn’t notice that both Emily (Hard Rules) and Sara both have this trait.

All in all, it was a great story, with just enough mystery and intrigue to keep the mystery lover in me curious but the hopeless romantic in me happy, for the most part, with the love story. I highly recommend this novel and the whole series, if you enjoyed this novel.

If you’ve read or are currently reading this book, comment your thoughts down below. And don’t forget to follow for more book reviews.

3 thoughts on “If I Were You by Lisa Renee Jones

Leave a Reply

