Being Me by Lisa Renee Jones

First, let me apologize for being behind on my reviews. I’ve read the entire series, as well as the spin-off and am barely working on these posts. Please bear with me as I try to recall the storylines and plots.

As you all know by now, Lisa Renee Jones is now one of my favorite authors. Her stories are filled with a variety of plot twists, lots of emotional scenes, and female leads who find their strengths over the course of the story. This particular book is the sequel to If I Were You. If you haven’t read it yet, I strongly suggest reading that before reading this.

Synopsis

The sexy second installment in the Inside Out erotic romance trilogy, following If I Were You—in the seductive tradition of Fifty Shades of Grey.

Fascinated by the dark fantasies in the journals she’s discovered, and the two men who have now found a place in her life, Sara McMillan finds herself torn between her new life and her past. Now, more than ever, Sara identifies with the lost journal writer, Rebecca, and is certain that something sinister has happened.

In the arms of the sexy, tormented artist Chris Merit, Sara seeks answers about Rebecca and ends up discovering things about herself she never knew existed. Chris forces Sara to reconsider who she is and what she truly wants from life, but not before his dark desires threaten to tear them apart. Her boss, Mark Compton, offers her the shelter to understand just what those needs mean to her, and what they might have meant to Rebecca, but can she trust him to lead her to a final conclusion to Rebecca’s story?

Review

Okay, here I go trying to recall what I was thinking whilst reading this novel.

Sara and Chris are definitely getting closer. So much so, that she actually accompanies him to several of his charity events. And while they still have way too many problems to deal with, including Sara’a past with her father and his protege, they try to handle those problems together. It doesn’t work out that way sometimes.

I am referring to the death of a very minor character. This led to Mark and his “friend” to become characters we do not like. At least Mark has some redeeming factors. We also get to meet the ex-boyfriend that pretty much made Sara become the shy woman she is at the beginning of the series. And thankfully, Chris handled the situation way better than Sara.

There’s still a missing Rebecca, although there has been a private investigator hired. The whole Rebecca situation causes an argument for Chris and Sara that leads Sara to do exactly as Chris expected her to do. This lead to the reveal of what happened to Rebecca and who did it. Yes, some of the mystery is solved, but there’s still so much that goes on. As for what happened to Ella, well that still remains a mystery.

In all honesty, I had a hard time getting through this novel. I’m not saying that’s a bad thing. What I’m saying is that, to me, the plot in this book felt a little dragged out. Sure we meet one of Sara’s demons and we see a side of Chris, Mark and Ava that we didn’t get to see before. Also, we find out what happened with Rebecca. That being said, I feel it could have taken less than 383 pages to do so. (383 is the length of my copy of this book.) It may just be that I felt that things weren’t moving quickly enough. There was also a little mini break up between the main characters so that may also play a role in how I felt about this book.

But even though I felt this way, that doesn’t mean the story was any less entertaining. It did have my attention when I was reading it.  And that doesn’t mean any of you will feel the same way. In fact, I think some of you may think the opposite. That’s perfectly okay, we are all entitled to our own opinions.

On a scale of 1 to 10, I would rate this novel a 7. It did have drama and the overall plot of the series was moving quickly, but the plot of this one novel I felt wasn’t moving fast enough for me.

I do hope you enjoy this book.

bm

Links for Purchase:

Amazon (Paperback)

Amazon (Kindle)

B&N (Nook)

B&N (Paperback)

If you’ve read or are currently reading this book, comment your thoughts down below. And don’t forget to follow for more book reviews.

2 thoughts on “Being Me by Lisa Renee Jones

Leave a Reply

