Buttons & Lace by Penelope Sky

Oh my god this book was so insane I literally pulled an all nighter just to read it. Needless to say, I NEED the next book!

Description

I owe him a debt.

A big one.

The payment can’t be settled with money or favors.

He only wants one thing.

Me.

Every action gets a reward. A button. Once I fill his jar with three hundred and sixty-five buttons, he’ll let me go.

He’ll let me walk away.

But I have to earn every single one.

By submitting to the darkest, cruelest, and most beautiful man I’ve ever known.

** TRIGGER WARNING ** There are some dark and disturbing scenes of abuse and punishment.

-Via Amazon

Review

So this book is one of three and let me tell you it’s kind of insane. Between arms dealers, human trafficking, and other very very despicable topics, this novel is certainly horrifying but somehow it just makes the story enjoyable.

It focuses on Pearl and Crow. Yes those are really the main characters names. And this is one of those novels where one of the characters goes through a horrific experience and somehow ends up finding her true love.

Honestly I had to tweet while reading this because I just had a lot of thoughts about it.

       “Who names a character Lars??? Like ohkay”

“It always amuses me when the main love interest say he doesn’t believe in love. Like hun ya gonna end up marrying the main character”

“Lmao he claims he isn’t impressed by Pearl yet he was distracted by her. Me thinks the sir doth protest too much 😂😂😂”

-via Twitter

Those are just some of the tweets I posted tonight while reading.

Anyway back to what you really came for.

The novel starts off with Pearl living with her boyfriend and she describes how the relationship is not what it used to be and whatnot. Said boyfriend has a few portions of dialogue and I already did not like him. Turns out he is a very very very despicable person than I originally thought.

While on a trip with the aforementioned “boyfriend”, Pearl gets kidnapped and auctioned off. She ends up in the hands of a ruthless man who creates weapons and sells them to the highest bidders. So you can imagine this guy is wealthy. Anyway, yeah he’s a terrible person, truly awful. And that man did a horrible thing to the Barsetti brothers. Which then leads them to kidnap Pearl as part of their plan for revenge.

Things go from bad to worse when Crow becomes fascinated with Pearl. At least in Crow’s opinion. I was actually not surprised when they started a physical relationship. It was bound to happen. Those two were constantly at each others throats. But they had such great chemistry.

Let’s take a moment to discuss Pearl’s character. I don’t think there is one of few female characters that represent how strong women truly are. She is an engineer, so she’s educated and beautiful. She’s also a survivor, lord knows she went through hell while being Bones’ captive. Like it’s seriously very graphic and disturbing. But even after a few months being treated the way she was, she continues to fight for her freedom. And while being Crow Barsetti’s captive, she tries to make the most of her terrible situation. I honestly don’t think I’ve admired a female lead more than Pearl. Well maybe Rose Hathaway but that’s a whole other story

And Crow Barsetti isn’t as bad as he’d like us to believe. In fact, where can I get me one, because literally he heats up this novel more than Jamie Dornan heats up the box offices with Fifty Shades Darker . Maybe I’m exaggerating but seriously Crow is H-O-T! I thought it was hilarious when he suggested the whole buttons in exchange for her freedom. I mean really just most of their exchanges are actually very amusing.

I have a problem with Crow’s brother. How savage is he really? Is he going to pose a problem for Pearl? Like what’s going to happen in the next two books? And what about Bones. What’s going to happen there? And with Pearl’s horrible boyfriend back in New York? I HAVE SO MANY QUESTIONS!!!!!!!

Needless to say, I’m officially hooked!

If you’ve read or are currently reading this book, comment your thoughts down below. And don’t forget to follow for more book reviews. 

Leave a Reply

