Provocative by Lisa Renee Jones

Lisa Renee Jones is seriously becoming one of my favorite authors. Which isn’t something I take lightly. For an author to become a favorite, I have to want to read their other works, otherwise why bother calling them favorites if you only know one of their series or books. And for those following my blog, you know I’ve been reading this author’s other books, some of them being Damage ControlIf I Were YouSanta, Baby, and Hard Rules. I’ve actually read most of her Inside Out series, which If I Were You belongs to, but haven’t had the chance to blog about.

Synopsis

There are those moments in life that are provocative in their very existences, that embed in our minds forever, and sometimes our very souls. They change us, mold us, maybe even save us. But some are darker, dangerous. If we allow them to, they control us. Seduce us. Quite possibly even destroy us.

The moment I walked into Sonoma’s Reid Winter Winery and Vineyard and made eye contact with Faith Winter for the first time was one of those moments. Provocative because I know at least one of her secrets, of which, I suspect she has many. Provocative because she believes I was a stranger to her when we met, but I am not. Provocative because I sought her out, with no intention of touching her. But now I have. Now I want her. Now I have to have her. But that changes nothing. It doesn’t change why I came for her.

Book two: Shameless will be out on July 11th!

(Via Goodreads)

Review

Lisa Renee Jones just has such a way of creating such interesting and entertaining characters. I read little excerpts to my roommates and they laughed at the character’s dialogue. And I had a hard time putting my phone down (I purchased the Nook version of this novel) when I didn’t have a class to go to or couldn’t stay awake to finish. Now before you start thinking that this novel wasn’t entertaining because I fell asleep, let me tell you, THAT WAS NOT THE CASE AT ALL. When I was able to begin reading this novel, I had already been awake for over 12 hours because it was a long school day, yes those days exist in college, and was already exhausted. Anyway back to why I recommend this book.

First, let’s talk about the characters. The novel is narrated by both Nick “Tiger” Rogers and Faith Winters. Both have secrets and a past that prevents them from truly trusting each other. Granted they’ve only just met. Literally this whole novel takes place over the course of a few weeks, if not a month, almost like Chris and Sara. But their chemistry is way off the charts, it’s so much fun to read. Their banter just goes back and forth. Honestly they did have sweet moments, but then there were these moments when you don’t know what is really going on. To this I’m referring to what happened to her mother that she feels guilty? Or why is Nick seeking revenge? Hmmmm…..

On top of that, we get a cameo of Chris and Sara from the Inside Out Series. Add to that other contexts clues, it seems that Nick has bought someone’s “club”. Either way, it was a nice little cameo connecting the series that made me originally fall in love with LRJ’s work.

Okay, so as soon as you open the book, there is a playlist of songs that can be listened to while reading, if that’s your thing, or after. These songs are from different genres and I felt they were the perfect pairing for the events that occur in the novel. If you’d like, I have the playlist on Spotify, just type in the book’s title.

Oh my goodness. There’s a huge mystery surrounding this vineyard mentioned in the synopsis. What is going on?!?!?!? I need Shameless, the second and last book in the White Lies duet. Like, how is Faith more dangerous than her mother? What will happen when Nick tells her his intentions of their first meeting? Will I ever find out what the heck is going on? Stay tuned for the next Lisa Renee Jones novel I read and review.

Links for Purchase:

Amazon (Kindle)

B&N (Nook)

Google Play

 If you’ve read or are currently reading this book, comment your thoughts down below. And don’t forget to follow for more book reviews.

3 thoughts on “Provocative by Lisa Renee Jones

  1. poderia me dizer se poderia ser algum entrave no cérebro,cerebelo ou
    bulbo ou qualquer coisa da espaço neurológica, posto
    que pra mim isso é caso muito estranho, como nunca vi
    ninguem sabido meu que tivesse qualquer caso aproximado com meu, sei que pro
    Também pode-se perguntar (para alunos mais maduros) que acharam da brincadeira e que ela lhes sugere.

    vai me mandar eu ir em um neurologista para fazer os exames
    mas detalhados antes do diagnostico, porém queria que com
    sua experiência, http://piprojects.wiki/User:SonyaHolland

    Like

Leave a Reply

