Duke of Manhattan by Louise Bay

Okay, so maybe this isn’t a series, but all the books are connected because characters from the other books do make cameos. Either way, I really did enjoy these books. This happens to be the last one in the set of standalones.

Synopsis

I was born into British aristocracy, but I’ve made my fortune in Manhattan. New York is now my kingdom.

Back in Britain my family are fighting over who’s the next Duke of Fairfax. The rules say it’s me–if I’m married. It’s not a trade-off worth making. I could never limit myself to just one woman.

Or so I thought until my world is turned upside down. Now, the only way I can save the empire I built is to inherit the title I’ve never wanted– so I need a wife.

To take my mind off business I need a night that’s all pleasure. I need to bury myself in a stranger.

The skim of Scarlett King’s hair over my body as she bends over . . .

The scrape of her nails across my chest as she screams my name . . .

The bite of her teeth on my shoulder just as we both reach the edge . . .

It all helps me forget.

I just didn’t bargain on finding my one night stand across the boardroom table the next day.

She might be my latest conquest but I have a feeling Scarlett King might just conquer me.

A sexy, standalone romance.

-via Goodreads

Review

Okay, so they obviously had great chemistry. And by them, I mean Scarlett and Ryder. Seriously, it was super obvious from the moment they met. But I actually kind of thought Ryder was a jerk when he’s first introduced.

Then there’s the sexy scenes where they are literally just wild and loose. Those scenes were definitely a little sexier than they were in Park Avenue Prince or King of Wall Street.

We saw the single Scarlett through Harper and Grace’s, as well as Max’s, point of view, but it was great getting to read her POV. She’s actually hilarious, and super vulnerable just like the rest of us. She was an extremely relatable character.  And her situation isn’t all that different from what thousands of people are doing. Yes, some people marry the first time because it’s convenient or they truly believe they’re in love.  If it’s the first, the second (or third) time around is actually for love. And if it’s the second, they just fall out of love.

Well I could go into detail about Scarlett and Ryder’s relationship, but that would be cheating. You’d have to read if you want specifics. It was actually really great to read. And it was a treat to read the evolution of a relationship.

And there was also the rivalry within families. That was actually an extreme version, at least in my experience. I don’t really know what else to say about this without giving spoilers. But it was very enjoyable

Links for purchase:

Amazon

Kindle

B&N

Nook

If you’ve read or are currently reading this book, comment your thoughts down below. And don’t forget to follow for more book reviews.

Leave a Reply

